Posted Fri, 15 Mar 2019 15:10:55 GMT by Dan Weaver

Good Morning,

We are new to M3 and are struggling with our bank reconciliations.  We manage 20 hotels and are still working our way through our January bank recs.  Does anyone have any tricks or lessons learned that could help us complete these? Could you share your procedures or steps you take to complete?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated

Posted Mon, 18 Mar 2019 02:19:57 GMT by Michele Fields Controller

I feel you.  I am new to M3 as well, but our company has used them for years.  The bank reconciliations are the hardest thing so far.  From what I have seen I am not sure if this is normal or not, but some items post directly to the GL without hitting the cash management.  Some of my hotels the Cash or the CLC deposits hit the GL but not the Cash register so you have to go in manually and check to see if they cleared by printing and highlighting them and then doing a "one sided entry" into the cash register for the uncleared items to clear next time.   I am actually here to see if I can find the how to on the "one sided entry"  I can't find my notes. 

Also if you use the Adjust feature you can make quick JE, but you can't attach an image to that.

Good luck!

Posted Tue, 19 Mar 2019 18:52:29 GMT by John Turnbull Room Numbers LLC 3rd Party Consultant

This might help a little bit, though it's not the whole story:

Until you're more comfortable with how it works you should try not to have anything hit your G/L cash accounts except for Cash Management entries.

A JEMN or JERC/JERV will not show up in Cash Management unless you make a corresponding entry in CM to match it (but without a G/L code). This is not actually a one-sided entry, it's just a memo item to bring CM into line with the G/L, but generally they're best avoided.